Say hello to Curro (AAR 2025)

Click on an image to enlarge the picture or play the video

Available to adopt

Hi, my name is Curro. I'm a male brown and white Mixed Breed and I'm 4 years old. I'm a medium sized dog. I'm 76cm from nose to tail and 46cm tall, and I weigh 17.00kg . I'm neutered. I'm good with other dogs but would do best in a home without cats. The team here are still getting to know me and don't yet know how I get along with children. I'll be getting socialised with them soon and we'll keep you posted. I've had my vaccinations and have my chip and passport so I'm ready to travel to a new forever home in Spain, or (unless otherwise mentioned) anywhere in Europe.

After an alert from a worried member of the public, I was rescued from a terrible situation with multiple other dogs, when I was found I was cowering and shaking – was it fear or just no shelter from the elements? Both maybe.
I was kept by a goat-herder – no shelter, stale bread on the floor for sustenance and no water. Can you imagine having to do a physical day’s work under this duress? And after my day’s work I was just chained up outside.
Since my rescue, I went to kennels; this brought me stability – food, water, a comfortable bed, veterinary care and the start to build a trusting relationship with a human.

I am now in my second foster home and am really enjoying being part of a household!

I am house trained, not boasting but it only took me three days. I've had lots of new experiences - car journeys (not keen), lakes and the Med with the water and tides, the feel of sand in my toes, sitting outside a busy restaurant and learning what it is like to be part of a normal life.

I love being cuddled, tickled under the chin and (sorry) but a good rub on my bottom and tail. If you dare stop, I'll nudge you sideways to keep going!

From my foster dog siblings I have learnt how to play, how to sit, how to wait for my meals. I also enjoy running about with my friends. I can be such a goof ball, just look at my videos and you'll see!

I need someone who is experienced with initially fearful dogs like me, as I am timid before I know you and I don't think I can handle to travel outside Spain for adoption, so I'd like to stay in Spain and preferably in the countryside with space, peace and quiet. I would also be happier as the only dog in the home as I need one-to-one attention.

Please contact us if you would like more information on Curro.

Vets in the Axarquia

See a list of some of the vets local to the Axarquia

Reporting Abuse

If you need to report a case of cruelty please contact SEPRONA

If you find a stray ...

dog or cat abandoned in the Axarquia region, here's what to do